The 777 Challenge 

  
I have been challenged by Marjorie of the blog Kyrosmagica for the 777 Challenge…

What is this challenge? Well basically you need to go to your latest work in progress – WIP – and find the 7th page, go down to the 7th line and basically share the next 7 sentences from it. And then challenge 7 others to be brave!

It’s a toughie for me, as I hate to not accept a challenge… But I had things in the pipeline from long ago, that haven’t been finished. My kids poetry stories are not long enough, and the Chick -Pea Curry Lit one is definitely a WIP so I guess I could use that one!

So, here goes… I’m not too confident about what you will all think. But here goes…

Wedded Stress

BEEEEEEEEP!!!!!!

Aashi looked into her rear-view mirror, and saw an extremely long line of cars trailing behind her. Slowly she looked at the speedometer and realized why there were a few annoyed people behind her. As her mind focused on the present moment, she could hear not one but a whole orchestra of horns blaring behind her.  She couldn’t really blame them, she was only doing 15 miles per hour! A road came up on her left and she turned into it, found the first available parking space (well really it was the first space in which three cars could fit, but Aashi hadn’t quite got the hang of parallel parking), stopped the car, and burst into tears.

Oblivious to everyone outside her car, Aashi bawled for a good ten minutes then slowly got herself together.

So… What did you think!?! I’d be intrigued… I had written about 13,000 words on this one, before it sank into the back of beyond, as marriage, and then motherhood hit! If you wanted to, I could post a couple of chapters to get feedback… And if the reaction is positive, I’m may even carry it on!

And to some other bloggers…. I challenge….

My blog sis Erika
Lisa
Gabriel
Leanne
Rajiv
Niki
Geoffles
Have fun!!!!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The 777 Challenge | Elle's Adventure in China
  2. Trackback: Do you really want to read…? | But I Smile Anyway...
  3. Trackback: Recognition! | But I Smile Anyway...
  4. Bhramori
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 17:51:49

    Hey, this is quite interesting! Will you continue it?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. edwinasepisodes
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 11:24:32

    That was a great post Ritu. I would like to know more about what is going on and that is always a good sign that you are doing something very right! Well done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Erika Kind
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 10:00:01

    Wow, Ritu, that was good. Great written. But I am also a little flabbergasted because describes a experience of myself early this year! I would really love to read the whole work. But I know there is a little bit more on your plate but writing a book…lol.
    That sounds like an interesting challenge, Ritu. Thank you for nominating me. Of course I will participate 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Marje @ Kyrosmagica
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 07:20:43

    Sounds intriguing and there’s a humourous voice in your writing which I like the sound of. Thank you for taking part and do continue by posting a couple of chapters. By the way Rachael Healey’s writing blog battle which is featured on my blog is a good way to get involved with a community of writers sharing stories on a theme on a weekly basis. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. wafflemethis
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 01:12:05

    I’ll read them sis sounds great post away☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My interactive peeps!