The SATS Effect – Kids Logic Part 33

if you read my post on Sunday, you would know that the children in the UK I. Year 2 (aged 6-7) and Year 6 (aged 10-11) are going through some pretty serious tests right know, known as the SATS. They are used to grade their progress over their Primary and Junior school education time.

Lil Princess is in the midst of hers, being in Year 2. Oh the pressure of it all! How to describe the effects of these ‘tests’ on a little child…

We were as the kids karate lessons on Tuesday night. Lil Princess hai-ya’s from 4-5pm then plays with friends there for an hour whilst Lil Man has his lesson usually.
This week, after her lesson, day two of her SATS, she was listless, sat with her friend, didn’t jump around like a loon, wasn’t making a racket… Not normal…
she came over to me and sat next to me, then laid her head on my lap.
Me: What’s up, Lil Princess?
LP: I’m tired…
Me: Why don’t you go play?
LP: My body’s telling me to go and play, but my brain’s telling me to rest!

See the effects of this testing…. Broke my heart, she’s so exhausted…. But she’s doing so well bless her, all I could do was hug her!

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Can’t Get No SATs-isfaction | But I Smile Anyway...
  2. ShethP
    May 16, 2015 @ 09:12:58

    Aww, God bless your kids. It’s all part of life, isn’t it? Wondering when I’ll finish my studies… 3 years, 5 years, 7 years?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. walkerkaty0
    May 14, 2015 @ 23:04:36

    This breaks my heart! I’m glad she is doing well though!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. A Muslim Latina
    May 14, 2015 @ 20:31:10

    Thats too much pressure on our children. Hopefully people on these school boards find a way to stop putting so much pressure. Hopefully your little princess gets to her normal life soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. joeyfullystated
    May 14, 2015 @ 16:46:44

    We have similar tests here. I hate them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. miusho
    May 14, 2015 @ 13:49:27

    Kids that age should be playing, not doing tests.. I’m glad we don’t have tests like that here (yet), it takes so much out of a child. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. the bespectacled mother
    May 14, 2015 @ 13:27:31

    Its strange to know that children as young as 6-7 years are required to take tests (i have no idea what is SATS) in UK. During the time I had spent in UK, we knew this Indian girl who joined in grade 5 told us she did not feel the pressure of study while in UK as compared to what she had gone through in India until then.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Ritu
      May 14, 2015 @ 16:12:43

      SATs are standardized tests to basically Levey children, and used to track their progress over their academic life… But it is a pressure… Different to the Indian schooling system…

      Like

      Reply

  8. Muddy mum
    May 14, 2015 @ 13:12:15

    I have a year two boy, he seems unaffected by it all thankfully and for once the school seem to be managing something well.
    Good luck to your little one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Ritu
      May 14, 2015 @ 16:10:14

      The thing us, even though its not theoretically made into a big deal, it still somehow becomes one, as things are, well, different, for a week at least!! Thank you, and good luck to yours too!!

      Like

      Reply

  9. Erika Kind
    May 14, 2015 @ 10:50:24

    The pressure for kids these days is so much bigger than when I went to school. I see that on my three! It is crazy how the need to catch up with the speed of progress around us in young years already. They are supposed to be kids!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. edwinasepisodes
    May 14, 2015 @ 09:29:33

    Ah Bless her. It seems so young to put them through such pressure. I hope they will soon be over and she gets her spark back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. sunsetdragon
    May 14, 2015 @ 08:58:09

    I am a retired school teacher an know all to well about the SAT’s and the pressure on the pressure on the kids to do well.
    Poor kids.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My interactive peeps!